January 10, 2009

  • Livi-ism!

    This morning we were lotioning and clipping fingernails after the girls’ shower, and Jon was quizzing Olivia with math questions.  She got an amazing amount correct!  She did both addition and subtraction, but the subtraction was a little trickier.  Jon would ask, “If I have eight apples and gave three to you, how many would I have left?”  She would answer, “Six,” because she counted (in her head) eight, seven, six–instead of seven, six, five.  She is a whiz at addition though! 

    Anyway, right at the beginning, Jon asked her, “If I had seven apples and you gave me one more, how many would I have?”  She answered, “Eight!” 

    “If I had eight apples and you gave me one more, how many would I have?”  “Nine!”

    “If I had eight apples and you gave me two more, how many would I have?”

    “Ten!  And I would be sick from all those apples!”

    ***

    Olivia would now like to type her name for you.  Here it is:

    OLIVIA

    She also used the shift key to make each letter uppercase (because she wanted it that way) and the backspace key to erase her mistakes. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *