January 15, 2009

  • So that is why they cancel school ’round here…

    We woke us this morning to a half inch of snow on the ground this morning!  The girls were so excited to see snow.  They wanted to go play in it immediately.  :)   I checked the local news website, and Bentonville schools were closed!  Now spending the first 28 years of my life in South Dakota and Minnesota, I find this quite humorous.  Seriously, half an inch of snow???  This is not a big deal.  I can still see the grass poking through it!

    Jon and I both found out this morning that they have their reasons!

    On his way to work, Jon slowly slid down a Bella Vista hill, avoiding braking to avoid fishtailing into a car trying to make it up the hill.  He had to slide into the grass a little bit, but no damage done.  He called me from work to tell me to be careful driving this morning, and I’m so glad he did!

    I was on my way to drop the girls off at a friend’s house, I tried three times to make it *up* a Bella Vista hill.  I finally had to go back down the road a quarter mile or so and get a running start at it.  I still spun out all the way up, but we made it!  Olivia and Norah thought I was crazy.  Olivia kept asking what I was doing and why we weren’t going.  Norah piped up, “I think we need gas!”  Too funny!! 

    Now we are both seasoned winter drivers.  I myself have spent fourteen years driving in winter conditions.  It really isn’t about the drivers like I always thought it was.  It’s about the hills, the condition of the roads, and the lack of equipment to appropriately take care of the roads once they are snow or ice covered.  Am I officially an Arkansas now? 

Comments (1)

  • I had a good laugh with this.  I had the same reaction to a “school cancelled” day when I first moved to MD.  It was definitely all about the ice that you didn’t necessarily see beneath that inch of snow.  It was a very learning experience. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *