November 11, 2008

  • Livi & Norah – isms about the new baby…

    Norah fell asleep in the car on the way home tonight, so Olivia got some alone time with Momma and Daddy.  We were talking about the new baby and what an important job it is to be a big sister.  We talked about how we didn’t know if it was going to be a boy or a girl, and how we wouldn’t know until it came out.

    Olivia said, “I wish I could go to the wedding when the baby comes out!”

    Daddy and I explained that it’s not called a wedding, it called birth when the baby is born.  Makes sense though, from a four-year-old perspective!  A very happy occasion where someone joins the family, plus you throw in the fact that one of them gets to dress like a princess, and Livi is in!

    Later she said, “I wonder where the baby will come out…”

    Jon and I looked at each other with the deer in the headlights look, and I was thinking, “What is the four-year-old version of this conversation?  Okay, don’t panic!  Just answer the question she asked simply, and wait to see if she wants more information.  Okay, where will the baby come out.  I can come up with an answer for this.”  I was remembering the exact same conversation that my sister-in-law Jenny had with her two little ones when I was pregnant with Olivia.  She had the greatest answer!  “God gives mommies a special hole for the baby to come out.”  I thought she had it made until one of them asked, “But Mommy, where is the hole?”  I decided then that it was time for me to leave since they weren’t my kids–guess I should have stayed in the room!

    As I was giving myself the pep talk, Olivia quickly piped up with her next comment.  “I just turned the page on my calendar you know!”

    At that point my pep talk went totally out the window and I had no clue how she switched subjects so fast.

    Then Jon said, “Ohhhhh, you mean you wonder what day on your calendar the baby will come?”

    Olivia said, “Yes! How many more pages is it?”

    Phew!  Three more calendar pages, honey.  Much simpler answer!  Thank you Jon, for figuring out what she meant!!!

    ********************************

    Norah came into my room today and snuggled up to me on the bed.  She wanted to feel the baby and put her hand on my tummy.  She said something about it being a little girl, and I reminded her that it could be a baby girl, but it could also be a baby boy, and we just didn’t know.  She was confused for a minute, then said,

    “But it’s not two!  It’s just one!”

    I agreed with her that it was NOT two babies, only one, and she said,

    “‘Cause there’s not room in there for two!”

    I could have just agreed with that too, but sometimes there is more than one, you know?  So I said, “Not this time! There’s just one.”  So of course she said,

    “Nope!  Not this time!  There’s just one.”

Comments (1)

  • That is so funny! Sammy thinks that babies come out from the belly button. I haven’t told her otherwise

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *